Spok Go can display alerts from on-site systems, such as nurse call systems, enabling you to quickly receive alerts and messages in one place. Within Spok Go, alerts are displayed as a panel across your screen and they are given higher priority over regular direct or group messages.
You can accept or decline/escalate an alert. If you accept the alert, it is displayed as a task in your Tasks folder to give you a list of the active tasks that required your attention. If you decline/escalate an alert, the alert is automatically sent to the next appropriate person based on the staff assignment for the workflow.
Within Spok Go, alerts are given higher priority than regular messages. When you receive an alert, you cannot view or send a message until you accept or decline an alert.
If you accept multiple alerts, they are saved in your Tasks folder and are ordered from oldest to newest. The oldest message is the one that has been active the longest. Each alert displays a timer indicating the time remaining before the alert is automatically escalated and sent to the next nurse.
Receiving an Alert
When you receive an alert in Spok Go, the alert displays the type of alert as well as the remaining time before the alert is automatically escalated to the next available person. The notification does not list any ePHI. You must accept or decline the alert before you can view, send, or reply to any other messages in Spok Go. Alerts are given a higher priority than messages to ensure you see the most critical tasks.
Accepting an Alert
When you receive an alert in Spok Go, you can either accept or decline/escalate the alert. If you accept the alert, it is added to your Tasks folder, which gives you a real-time list of the alerts requiring your attention.
The alert is also updated to show the day/time you accepted the alert, providing an sequence of events for the alert.
- Click the alert notification.
- Click Accept. The alert is moved to your Tasks folder.
- After you address the alert, hover your cursor over the alert and click Complete. The alert is removed from your Tasks folder.
Declining/Escalating an Alert
If you cannot address an alert, you can decline/escalate it to the next available person. If you escalate the alert, the alert is removed from your Spok Go inbox. The alert is also updated to show the day/time you escalated the alert, providing an sequence of events for the alert.
- Click the alert to view the details.
- Click Decline. (Please note that Decline is the default button text. Different text may be displayed based on the alert configuration at your site.) The alert is automatically sent to the next on-call staff member and it is no longer displayed in your inbox.
If you do not respond to an alert within the specified amount of time, the alert is automatically sent to the next person on the staff assignment list. The alert displays a timer that shows the remaining time before the alert is escalated.
Viewing Your List of Tasks
After you accept an alert, the alert is displayed in your Tasks folder. If you declined or escalated an alert, it is no longer visible in your Inbox or Tasks folder.
Completing a Task
After you have taken care of an alert, you can complete it to remove it from your list of tasks.
- Click .
- Hover your cursor over the task that you completed.
- Click Complete. The task is no longer displayed.